Batch #7

I always start my day with coffee.
When Spring comes, I wake up earlier than I’m used to.
The sunrise awakens me.
Soft, yellow rays of light are my new alarm clock.

I wash my face with cold water.
It is Spring.

I walk downstairs and into my kitchen.
This is where I make my coffee, daily.
I open the blinds of the kitchen window.
Soft, yellow rays of light touch the street.
It is Spring.

I put water in the kettle and put it on the stove.
I wait for it to boil.
While I wait, I enjoy the scent of Spring.

I take the time to grab a cup and a filter.
I put one scoop of grinded beans in the filter.
The aroma that teases my senses is befitting for the weather.
It is Spring.

Once the water starts boiling, I take it off the stove.
I pour it on the grind, slowly and in circles.
The coffee drips into the cup.

I grab a second cup and put a new filter in place.
I put one scoop of grinded beans in the filter.
The aroma tells me it is Spring.

Again I pour water on the grind.
Slowly and in circles.
The coffee drips into the cup.

I walk upstairs with two cups of coffee.
The soft, fruity scent of the coffee leaves a trace behind every step I take.

I am finally back at the place where I woke up.
Soft, yellow rays of light have filled the room.
They kiss your cheek and warm your face.

I take a seat on our bed and sip my coffee.

I hear you wake up, slowly.
Your arm wraps itself around my body.
A gentle kiss on my shoulder.
Your hand grabs my cup of coffee.
You couldn’t resist the scent of this fresh morning brew.

I grab the second cup.
It is Spring.

Leave a Reply

